top of page

Easy Beet Hummus

Do you guys want to know a secret?! I had never even tried a beet until I made this recipe! Yep, I’m still trying to overcome my childhood "picky eater" habits in my 20s... but hey at least I’m making some progress!! This week I plan to enjoy this beautifully pink beet hummus with pita chips and veggies, on glorious veggie filled wraps, and I‘m thinking I’ll even toss a few sliced beets into my salads?! I know right... who is she?!


Making your own hummus at home is really cost-effective! You can find canned beans for under $1 at some stores and as long as you have a blender or food processor of some sort, you're golden! Of course once you factor in the other ingredients you'll need like olive oil and lemon juice, your hummus is going to cost you more than just $1, but you can control which ingredients you add in and how much to make this even more budget friendly! I see a lot of store-bought hummus being sold for $3-5 a container and it's always packaged in plastic. :( Sometimes I will treat myself to a special flavor of hummus when I'm in the mood for it or when I'm behind on my meal prep, but more often than not I make my own! Homemade hummus was definitely a staple for me while I was in college because I could easily make it in my dorm and hummus is a great source of plant-based protein.



Beets have many health benefits and help to support healthy blood pressure, digestion, and brain function to name a few. Beets have anti-inflammatory properties, are a good source of fiber, and are a great low-calorie option if you're trying to lose weight. Check out this article to learn more about the benefits of eating beets!




Easy Beet Hummus


Ingredients:

- 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

- 7 or more slices of cooked beets (I used canned)

- freshly squeezed lemon juice from 1.5 lemons

- 3 flat tablespoons olive oil

- 1 heaping tablespoon peanut butter (get one with just peanuts and salt in the ingredients)

- spice it up! (use some salt, pepper, onion powder, etc.)


Instructions:

1. Drain chickpeas and rinse them well. I find they’re easier to digest when you don’t use the aquafaba liquid. (You can save this liquid and use it as a vegan substitute for other recipes)


2. Add the whole can of chickpeas to a blender or food processor. Next, add in 7 slices or so of cooked beets. The more beets you add, the more vibrant and pink your hummus will turn out! I got some canned and pre-sliced beets to make it easy! If you are using fresh beets, roast them in the oven until fully cooked. (I would guess one small beet would do the trick for this recipe.)

3. Blend until smooth and creamy. Wipe down the sides and blend again to make sure everything is fully mixed.


4. Transfer to a reusable container and serve chilled. I enjoy hummus with lightly salted pita chips and carrots. You could also try other raw veggies, pretzels, or pita bread!



I love how this easy beet hummus turned out! This would make a fun, pretty appetizer to serve at a gathering or girls night! You can add a drizzle of olive oil, salt, pepper, and some hemp hearts across the top to dress it up for your event. Give this recipe a "heart" if you enjoyed this post!


xoxo,

Marley

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page