top of page

Omega Overnight Oats

Updated: Oct 8, 2019

The votes are in... I am sharing one of my favorite, healthy overnight oats recipes for you to enjoy for yourself! If you haven't given overnight oats a try yet, I definitely recommend it. At first I was not sure how I felt about cold oatmeal, but after adjusting my recipe and trying out new flavor combinations, I have found a few ways to make cold oats stand up to my usual bowl of cooked oats. Keep reading to find out my tips!

Overnight oats is one of the easiest and most filling recipes to make for breakfast. This is a healthy solution perfect for quick mornings because you can prepare everything the night before. I always prepare my overnight oats in a mason jar so I can take it with me to work or to 8 a.m.'s if I'm running late, which I usually am. I also prep my smoothies the night before to save time and they too are just as easy and filling for breakfast!


The base I use for this nutritious recipe consists of a 50/50 combo of organic, gluten-free whole rolled oats and So Delicious original coconut milk. The reason this specific recipe is packed with omega-3s is due to a few superstar ingredients; chia seeds and pepitas. These seeds are rich in omega-3 fatty acids, will keep you fuller for longer, and are high in fiber and antioxidants! Now add some blueberries and cinnamon to make for an even greater antioxidant boost and you've got a healthy, quick breakfast that will keep you feeling energized all morning.

The Recipe: Omega + Antioxidant Overnight Oats

- 1/2 cup old fashioned rolled oats

- 1/2 cup coconut milk

- 2 flat teaspoons chia seeds

- 4 heaping tablespoons vanilla greek yogurt

- 1/3 cup blueberries

- 3 flat teaspoons raisins or chopped dates

- 3 flat teaspoons pepitas

- dash of vanilla extract

- a few dashes of cinnamon

- 1 flat teaspoon maple syrup


My tips for making the best overnight oats!

A few small tweaks will transform your overnight oats from just okay to amazing! First, add yogurt and use your choice of milk instead of water for creamier oats. Also, add some texture! The pumpkin seeds and raisins or dates add a little bit of crunch and a chewy texture so you won't get tired of eating the same old boring oats all of the time. Stir your overnight oats in the morning to check how they turned oat and add some extra milk or water if the consistency is too thick. Lastly, if you still are not loving the cold oats, don't worry they heat up just fine!

Food is medicine. Continue to respect your body and show it love by filling your tummy with nutrients, omegas, antioxidants, fiber, and more!


xoxo,

Marley

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page